protective gear

Manny

Senior Master
Reaction score
When I was young doing sparring (kyorugi) in the dojan we use nothing but maybe shin pads, in those days we had hogus but only used at tournamets.

When I come back after almost 17 years I was amazed of the full protective gear TKD classmates use, I laugh and remeber the old days and I reffused to use full protective gear.

However I've change my mind afther I spar with a classmate who is a surgeon, he used his hogu,his forearm/elbow pads,his shin and instep pads,the helmet and even mouth protector. The doctor said to me, Manny I need to protect me cause a hurt or disable hand makes me lose money, I'm a surgeon an need my hands to work.

I have to teel you I have graceful thin feet and that's why I use shin/instep pads, but lately as I use my hands to spar my hands hurt me, don't know if because the age or what, so now I want to buy the protective gloves and need a helmet too, however I still dislike the hogu.

The hogu does not allow me to move well and kick confortabily it reduces my ability to move, but there are some guys who kick pretty nasty and don't wana a crack rib or ribs.

So been 41 with bad feet with some bacon around me, a little slow I'm gona use full protective gear, don't mind if you say I'm a Nancy I really don't care, last night I did light sparring with a youngster that put his elbow in the path of my instep jajajajajajaja and now have a swollen foot ouch!!!!

Manny

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Manny you should use protective gear all the time and whoever says you are a Nancy tell them to get in the ring without it and see.

just2kicku

Black Belt
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Manny you should use protective gear all the time and whoever says you are a Nancy tell them to get in the ring without it and see.

Ummmm.....Terry, We spar without protective gear all the time. Well, except for a cup and mouth guard.

granfire