"That's My student"

Big Don

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
"That's my student, I recruited" Thus went the facebook post that annoyed me.
I'm a first degree Black Belt. I'm still learning. While I gladly help instruct, none of those students are MY students.
Comes a comment from one of my sifu's green belts:
"That's my student, I recruited."
About one of the white belts at our school.
IMHO, they are your students when you have a school of your own.
I responded
That is NOT your student. You are a green belt, you don't have students. Very disrespectful to Sifu. I hope he doesn't see that.
Am I right, wrong or just taking it wrong?

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
"That's my student, I recruited" Thus went the facebook post that annoyed me.
I'm a first degree Black Belt. I'm still learning. While I gladly help instruct, none of those students are MY students.
Comes a comment from one of my sifu's green belts: About one of the white belts at our school.
IMHO, they are your students when you have a school of your own.
I responded
Am I right, wrong or just taking it wrong?

I see your point, but might give some leeway with full context. It would depend on whether they're saying "this is the guy I brought into class" or "I'm teaching this guy." Probably worth suggesting they clarify or rephrase to avoid misunderstanding. Especially if they might be "teaching" the guy outside of class...

rlobrecht

Brown Belt
Reaction score
Your concern is over the word student?

I assume "That's my friend, I recruited." is ok. How about "That's my colleague, I recruited."? Or even "That's the random guy who saw me walking out of the dojang, and I told him how great the school and teacher are. I recruited."

As long as he's not teaching him, or as a green belt, not even correcting him in class, I think the statement is innocent, and not disrespectful.

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni