McDojo offshoot

hkfuie

Purple Belt
Reaction score
*Not sure if I should create a new thread for this one. I can't see the other thread going anywhere good, anyway. :)

Original thread: http://martialtalk.com/forum/showthread.php?t=70460

I see why some are put off by the original post. I agree. And the second video...I agree as well about belt inflation, etc.

The portion of the thread I think is interesting is Grodon Nore's point: "So why does this all have to happen -- or so it appears to me -- so quickly? That could be a room full of orange and green belts, savouring another moment in a longer journey."

Martial arts training SHOULD take alot of work, require change and growth on the part of the student, it should be demanding. I don't think people are unwilling to work. Do you all think so?

I am new to where I am now, I have only a few very low ranking belts and already I have had to start educating everyone on the value of waiting, the value of progressing slowly, etc.

I think I will bring it up again at next class.

How do you all educate your students about the value of slow progression in martial arts? THIS is what some people come to martial arts training for, imo. Or am I just crazy? Yeah, I guess I AM. :)

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score
How do you all educate your students about the value of slow progression in martial arts? THIS is what some people come to martial arts training for, imo. Or am I just crazy? Yeah, I guess I AM. :)

I run a small noncommercial school out of my home dojo. Since I don't advertise, any new students usually know someone already training or they heard of me from another teacher in the area. So I'm largely insulated already against people who just want a belt.