ATA or TA

BrianF

White Belt
Reaction score
Some qualifiers:

1. This is a request for info, not an attack.
2. My Son studies TKD, I do not, but I will start MA depending on where my next job takes me.
3. I have friends who study at a Taekwondo America school.

I am new to the MA and enjoy reading on this Forum and others. I think I have an understanding of what the ATA is and why some do not like it. My friends who attend the Taekwondo America (TA) school are each Black Belts (all 6 of them, the youngest is 11 and is 2nd degree). By all points of reference from the Forum, I am inclined to believe the school is similar to an ATA school and/or could be called a Black Belt factory.

If anyone is familiar with TA, please educate me. I am not going to attack my friends for their choice. But I do want info to help understand the differences in various schools and why my son's path through belt progression may be different to that of my friends' children.

Respectfully,

BrianF

Tryak

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I do not know anything about TA in particular or much about ATA so I cannot comment on those. I would definitely say that an 11 year old 2nd day is extremely worrisome. The majority of respected schools will not award anything but a Poom (junior black belt) to students who are under 16.

I am not sure when this 11 year old started but from 1st -> 2nd dan should be at least 18 months minimum recommended and another 4-5 years just to reach 1st dan. So the 11 year old would have had to start at 4.5 years of age just to meet those guidelines alone and that does not even take into consideration that not having developed past puberty there would be a distinct lack of muscle mass required to adequately perform the techniques of a 2nd dan black belt.