How do fights 'go to the ground'?

FearlessFreep

Senior Master
Reaction score
I've heard it said that street fights often go to the ground; and I've heard different people from different backgrounds so that it either happens a lot, or doesn't happen much at all. It really depends I guess on the situation and the fighters in question.

So I'm wondering that in fights that do end up on the ground; what causes that to happen? Is it 'inevitable'? Or does it really depend on the fighters in question and what they do or want to do?

The reason I ask is that I practice TKD and I'm still a relative beginner, but we don't do TKD for olympic sparring mostly, the focus on the training is more full rounded with a lot of emphasis on self-defense and fighting. The more I think about it the more I see there is a big difference between 'what I would do in a sparring match' and 'what I woulasc d do against someone really trying to attack me' Anyway, we practice using basic TKD blocks to break grabs and avoid grabs in the first place; a lot of strikes to really hurt the aggressor (basic strikes like power to the solar plexus or kidneys or floating ribs, but also pressure point strikes to the wrist to break grasps and knifehands to the jaw below the ear and stuff); and kicks to cause real damage (sidekick to break the knee, etc...) We do some basic takedowns as well and my instructor has said that we will do some ground fighting as well.

But my reall queastion is...is going to the ground inevitable? Or just something that seems to be comfortable either for those trained for it for the untrained. I mean, if some guy bull rushes me with arms out to grab me and throw me down; I suppose I could go down and then fight from there, but given my background, I'm much more likely to try to stop his rush and avoid his grasp and put him down with hard strikes without going down myself. If some guy pulls on knife on me for my wallet and I fight back, is that fight 'going to the ground'?