Using Nails in a Fight, Effective of Ineffective?

Kane

Black Belt
Reaction score
Many describe using nails in a street fight the woman's way of fighting. However, does that mean it won't work? Would you use your nails in a street fight? Usually if you use your nails to strike, you might be able to cut your attacker. However you might break a nail in the process which can be somewhat painful as well.

I think I would use mine in grappling. Every grip I make I would use my nails and sink it into whatever move (armbar, choke, ect.) I am doing. I don't think I would use it strike, because breaking a nail might not be the wisest (well that is if your life is not at stake, then it is maybe okay).

Also does anyone in hear sharpen their nails just for self-defense? Sound strange to me, but it might no be a bad idea.

GAB

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi Kane,
:rolleyes:
I like to carry a 16 penny nail around in my watch pocket, since I am a carpenter I know what a nail will do to you... I recommend them highly...

You have to watch out for us old guys we have lots of tricks...:)

Regards, Gary

digitalronin

Green Belt
Reaction score
You can pound some into a louisville slugger and make a nasty club out of of them ....
oh u mean human nails :( rake the eyes and follow with something with a bit more impact

bignick

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
My judo instructor has told me of when he was stationed in japan he'd heard stories about Chinise Martial Arts practitioners sharpening their nails. But I have none to speak of so it's not really an option for me. Plus, training on a regular basis you'd think the nails would break or end up scratching yourself or your partners.

K

Knifehand

GAB said:
Hi Kane,
:rolleyes:
I like to carry a 16 penny nail around in my watch pocket, since I am a carpenter I know what a nail will do to you... I recommend them highly...

You have to watch out for us old guys we have lots of tricks...:)

Regards, Gary

LOL:boing1:

mj-hi-yah