Martial arts arguments

Kenpoguy123

Purple Belt
Reaction score
He everyone this is my first post but I have been a martial artists for around 10 years. I started in ishinryu karate then moved to american kenpo karate which I have been doing for 8 years and am a first class brown belt. I also do some kickboxing training on the side.

One thing that always annoys me on the Internet is arguments about which style is better. Everyone's obviously going to prefer their own style. Why is it such a big deal about which one you thinks the best. As long as you enjoy it who cares what others think. Every martial art has it's weaknesses. Boxing has no kicks, kickboxing has no knees or elbows, karate has no ground, jiu jitsu has no punches and kicks. I know my styles aren't perfect but I still enjoy training and learning and getting better. That's what it's about not showing who's style is the best. You also get these arguments about whose style is better in a street fight well again who cares. As adults we shouldn't be thinking about getting in street fights and if you are attacked any martial can help you.

I think there should be less arguments about what we train we should all respect each other. We all put the time in to our chosen style. It's not about what we train it's the fact we do train

Buka

Sr. Grandmaster
Staff member
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Welcome to MT, Kenpoguy123. Hope you enjoy the forum.

I agree with you about the way people should get along online. Let's hope it's the way of the future.

But, you know the nature of the beast. :)

28bqohe.jpg

hoshin1600

Senior Master
Reaction score
Arguments? I see no such thing here......

To disagree can actually be a good thing. It makes you think. On the Internet if we all agreed with each other it would be very boring with not much learning going on.

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to MT, Kenpoguy123. Hope you enjoy the forum.