Fitness training

Glycerine0160

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I have been powerlifting for about 6-7 months. I'm nineteen and weight 144lbs It's helped me make a lot of strength gains.
I also have been taking JKD for about 3-4 months
The usual board I post on for lifting seems to hollow in terms of how I can lift/train toward martial arts.

One consensus I got was that I sticking with deadlifts, bench press, squats (the 3 primary lifts) would be good to keep, but the rest of the routine I should probably mend.

I want to get a punching bag, but I have to see if my apartment will allow me to have one. Obviously this would be ideal for training.

Bottom line is that I'm not trying for any mma or ufc. I just do this for my self, but I like to be in good shape. In some perspective, being in good shape would benefit me when I am a police officer. (yes that is what I am aiming to be within the next upcoming years.)

OT: my friend and I argue a lot over ufc and ma. why exactly is it that the ufc doesn't use jkd mixed in? why don't they intercept punches ect.

GradualProgression

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
You want to work for strength but minimize size.

One technique I have read the Bruce Lee used (and I'm currently trying myself) is to start with a weight you can only do 8-10 reps with then keep that same weight until you can qucikly do 12 reps. He did 5-8 sets of this per exrcise to build strength and then using the same weight to tone and draw the muscles back to his skeleton. This works for any weight training.

Cardio is also key! Bruce was a big proponent of jumping rope, he said it was a better cardio workout then jogging at time.

Also work alot on you core (abs,lower back) but avoid situps! and be sure to work your lower back.