Weight Lifting & Krav Maga on same days?

Stronglifter94

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm a 28-year-old male, 5 foot 8, 175 pounds. I lift heavy weights in my home gym 3 days a week, Wednesday/Friday/Sunday. I do full-body workouts using only compound exercises: squats, bench presses, deadlifts, overhead presses, bent over rows, pushups, and chinups. I started training in Krav Maga and go to class Monday/Wednesday/Friday. On Wednesdays and Fridays I go to Krav Maga after my lifting session. Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday are my recovery days. Is this a good training schedule for balancing both my weight lifting and Krav Maga training? What are your thoughts? Please and thank you.

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
It really depends on how intense your krav training is. Theoretically, you should be tired enough that you can't do martial arts directly after weight training (unless that was a planned schedule). And my recommendation would be to separate them, at the very least do weight training in the morning if you have krav at night. But if you're doing it fine and haven't noticed a recovery issue than keep doing what you're doing (or go more intense in class if you've been slacking).

MetalBoar

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm a 28-year-old male, 5 foot 8, 175 pounds. I lift heavy weights in my home gym 3 days a week, Wednesday/Friday/Sunday. I do full-body workouts using only compound exercises: squats, bench presses, deadlifts, overhead presses, bent over rows, pushups, and chinups. I started training in Krav Maga and go to class Monday/Wednesday/Friday. On Wednesdays and Fridays I go to Krav Maga after my lifting session. Tuesday/Thursday/Saturday are my recovery days. Is this a good training schedule for balancing both my weight lifting and Krav Maga training? What are your thoughts? Please and thank you.