type of training I need?

R

Rahde

Hi, I need some help on what type of muscle training I should do. Right now I'm a beginner but I'm done my research and I've decided to practise muay thai. However I need to know what type of training I need to do first to get me stronger before I do serious training.

First, here is some information about me. I'm 18 (19 in June), about 145 pounds, 5' 10". (yeah I know, I'm scrawny). I've been lifting weights for about 2 months now, max bench is 160 pounds. I was hoping to do lots of lifting, isolating muscles, to get strength (and weight). However, my friend, who does free style martial arts tells me to do a different training style. That is, 3 sets of pull ups (with bar), dips, squats (horsestance) and pushups and keep doing that until my body gives out. I know that this will give me endurance but I don't think this will be the fastest way for me to gain muscle.

I was hoping to mix the two training styles, i.e. alternating between weight lifting and his style but he tells me that will be contradictory since weight training and his style builds different type of muscles and they will reduce the effects of each other. What I want to do is weightlifting since that will give me a shape and muscles but is that bad for muay thai fighting since, according to him, my muscles won't know how to work together effeciently?

Any advice, programs, plans you guys can offer would be great. Thanks in advance.

Zepp

Master of Arts
Reaction score
The woods of Marin County, California, USA
Hi Radhe, welcome to MT.

First of all:
Rahde said: