Something I Am Starting to Feel Myself

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Technology marches on, seemingly at an ever increasing pace. Some of us, as we gather years and the wisdom of life experience, lose our facility to adapt to and make use of new devices and interfaces:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-20664470

I am getting the distinct impression that this tendency to avoid technology I do not know how to use well is starting to affect me too, which given the hi-tech engineering I do for a living, is a definite warning sign that designers are failing to make their products usable by different generations.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
Technology marches on, seemingly at an ever increasing pace. Some of us, as we gather years and the wisdom of life experience, lose our facility to adapt to and make use of new devices and interfaces:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-20664470

I am getting the distinct impression that this tendency to avoid technology I do not know how to use well is starting to affect me too, which given the hi-tech engineering I do for a living, is a definite warning sign that designers are failing to make their products usable by different generations.

My 92 (as of last week) year old grandmother has an IPhone and IPad that she uses regularly.

Admittedly she has screwed up her apartment's wireless network more than once and she must be the dread of the Apple Store with her frequent complaints about how her (insert piece of technology here) "just stopped working." :D

granfire

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
My 92 (as of last week) year old grandmother has an IPhone and IPad that she uses regularly.

Admittedly she has screwed up her apartment's wireless network more than once and she must be the dread of the Apple Store with her frequent complaints about how her (insert piece of technology here) "just stopped working." :D

LOL!!!