Muay thai sparring tips

Rossi

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been training for about 2 months now and had my first experience of contact sparring the other night which I thoroughly enjoyed. I'm ok with the techniques in practise but when sparring......I got punched in the face a few too many times. One chap in particular would wait for me to throw a punch then clipped me every time

Aside from a better defence has anyone got any advice?
Cheers

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm ok with the techniques in practise but when sparring......I got punched in the face a few too many times.
Work on moving your head(slipping and lateral movement) it will work wonders.

One chap in particular would wait for me to throw a punch then clipped me every time

Cheers

If he is doing it every time use it to your advantage and throw some off-speed techniques. They won't be there when he thinks they will and it will throw off his rhythm.

At this point in your training just keep working your basics and sparring every chance you get. It take stime to become a good fighter.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have been training for about 2 months now and had my first experience of contact sparring the other night which I thoroughly enjoyed. I'm ok with the techniques in practise but when sparring......I got punched in the face a few too many times. One chap in particular would wait for me to throw a punch then clipped me every time

Cheers

First off, welcome to Martial Talk! :)

As for your question. Considering that you're new to the art, I'd suggest starting off slow. Nobody becomes perfect overnight. I'd start by isolating certain things and working on those. For example: rather than just jumping into the ring and going all out, I'd have your partner throw some slow strikes at you, while you just work on your defense. This is going to include footwork, blocking, bobbing, weaving, etc.