Muay thai sparring tips

Rossi

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been training for about 2 months now and had my first experience of contact sparring the other night which I thoroughly enjoyed. I'm ok with the techniques in practise but when sparring......I got punched in the face a few too many times. One chap in particular would wait for me to throw a punch then clipped me every time

Aside from a better defence has anyone got any advice?
Cheers

Jade Tigress

RAWR
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Mod Note

Thread moved to Muay Thai Forum.

Pamela Piszczek
MT Moderator

wee_blondie

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I got punched in the face a few too many times.

Getting hit once is too much!

But anyway, sounds like you had a decent training partner. When he's clipping you as you throw a punch, he's trying to help you keep your guard tight. Such an easy mistake (I used to do it too!) is to drop your hand before punching; or forget to keep your chin tucked. Don't know if you were doing that or not, but its very common when a person starts out.

As far as tips go, your instructor will be the best person to talk to as he can watch you and show you correct techniques. Defence is a must when sparring but you should always follow up with a strike of your own.

Glad to hear that you are enjoying it - good luck and let us know how you get on!

OP
R

Rossi

White Belt
Reaction score
Cheers - After the first time he did tell me to keep my guard up - I obviously didn't listen and he must have thought one warning was enough!!

King

Green Belt
Reaction score
He-he that's cute, I think that's one of the perks of being a senior student. They get to pummel the lessons into us. You get one vocal warning and the rest you learn by example lol.