Martial arts: From killing art to wellness and fitness

Chris Parker

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hmm… I appreciate where she's coming from, but it's vague, takes the belief that all martial arts are the same, and gets most of it all quite wrong. Pity.

OP
Bill Mattocks

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hmm… I appreciate where she's coming from, but it's vague, takes the belief that all martial arts are the same, and gets most of it all quite wrong. Pity.

I just appreciate the general awareness that martial arts training is, in general, also a good way to remain fit and mobile as the population ages. I started training at age 46 and I'm glad I did. We have a student who just turned 75, I believe he gets a lot out of the training health-wise.

OP
Bill Mattocks

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yeah, like I said… I appreciate where she's coming from… it's just a pity that the entire article is so flawed.

It is seldom that non-martial artists 'get' the nuances or even the gross details. I am constantly asked by my students what it was like being in the "army" when I wear Marine Corps regalia and tattoos. They don't get the difference and explaining doesn't help. You either know or you do not. The author's article is clearly aimed at the general public, which doesn't know a lot about martial arts in general, so the fact that the ignorant explain to the ignorant using incorrect information doesn't really fash me. If it gets a few people into the training facility nearest them, that's a good thing.

K-man

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Technically the article is wrong about a lot of things but the underlying message is valid. Training any martial art will provide a lot of benefit health-wise.
:asian:

Argus

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score