MA Uniform as Halloween Costume

tigycho

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
In the run-up to Halloween, I've seen/heard a handful of instructors caution their students that wearing their uniform as a Halloween costume is 'disrespectful'.

Just curious as to everybody's take on this.

Is doing so a no-no? If so, why? If not, why not?

Thanks in advance for your thoughtful opinions.

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
In the run-up to Halloween, I've seen/heard a handful of instructors caution their students that wearing their uniform as a Halloween costume is 'disrespectful'.

Just curious as to everybody's take on this.

Is doing so a no-no? If so, why? If not, why not?

Thanks in advance for your thoughtful opinions.

It's kids. Let 'em wear it, just don't get it all nasty. But I'm an adult student, not an instructor. I'd do whatever my Sensei said. Far as I know, he doesn't care. Usually he jokes about renting out his gi and black belt to parents for $20 for the night. I'm pretty sure he's joking, anyway.

Earl Weiss

Senior Master
Reaction score

While technical definitions may include it as a "costume" and while perhaps not exactly disrespectful I consider it inappropriate.

When it comes to Halloween Costumes the following definition is applicable
"
. a set of clothes, esp unusual or period clothes, worn in a play by an actor or at a fancy dress ball: a jester's costume

"

For instance, would a soldier go to a Halloween party in their uniform? I think not

So, for an MA student, an MA uniform is not worn for them to act the part or pretend they are something they are not.

chrispillertkd

Senior Master
Reaction score
I'm not a fan of it.

It's also a great way to get the uniform stained or otherwise ruined by the elements. And that's it's own reward when parents who had their kids wear their doboks have to buy a new one.

Pax,

Chris

dancingalone

Grandmaster
Reaction score