Cross-Pollination

Bill Mattocks

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I happened to meet a coworker yesterday who is a high-dan belt holder in a form of Tang Soo Do, which I believe is called Soo Bahk Do. We talked a bit, and he mentioned that his instructor liked Isshin-Ryu bo kata and teaches it to his students. As an Isshin-Ryu student, I thought this was really cool and a nice compliment. I'd like to visit his dojo someday just to watch and see how they do things there.

We do similar things in our dojo; sensei will from time to time show us something he picked up from another style and teach it to us, telling us it's not Isshin-Ryu, it's from X style, but he likes it and so here it is.

How about the rest of you? Cross-pollinate any? What are your thoughts on learning from other styles?

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I happened to meet a coworker yesterday who is a high-dan belt holder in a form of Tang Soo Do, which I believe is called Soo Bahk Do. We talked a bit, and he mentioned that his instructor liked Isshin-Ryu bo kata and teaches it to his students. As an Isshin-Ryu student, I thought this was really cool and a nice compliment. I'd like to visit his dojo someday just to watch and see how they do things there.

We do similar things in our dojo; sensei will from time to time show us something he picked up from another style and teach it to us, telling us it's not Isshin-Ryu, it's from X style, but he likes it and so here it is.

How about the rest of you? Cross-pollinate any? What are your thoughts on learning from other styles?
If its got good body mechanics, its all kenpo (martial art); so, each style is another way of looking at the same old stuff.
Sean

harlan

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Good post. :)

Yes. I like to say that our goju is 'informed' by Feeding Crane (kung fu) with ideas about movement, power generation, and bunkai.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score