At What Point To Start Training Other Arts?

Psilent Knight

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I am presently training in Kyokushin Karate but I would like to explore a couple of other arts in order to incorporate certain principles into my MA practice. I am not a BB yet and will not be for another couple of years. At some point I would like to explore Tai Chi Chu'an, Shaolin Chin-na, Bagua and Goju ryu Karate because I want to learn, understand and incorporate their respective principles of movement, power generation and using an opponent's force against him.

For the veteran martial artists here I wanna know at what point would it be best to start learning and studying these other arts? Would it be best to wait until I am a BB in the style that I am studying now or can I start learning even before reaching BB?

Thanks everyone and Take Care,
Osu!

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I am presently training in Kyokushin Karate but I would like to explore a couple of other arts in order to incorporate certain principles into my MA practice. I am not a BB yet and will not be for another couple of years. At some point I would like to explore Tai Chi Chu'an, Shaolin Chin-na, Bagua and Goju ryu Karate because I want to learn, understand and incorporate their respective principles of movement, power generation and using an opponent's force against him.

For the veteran martial artists here I wanna know at what point would it be best to start learning and studying these other arts? Would it be best to wait until I am a BB in the style that I am studying now or can I start learning even before reaching BB?

Osu!
I'll outline the three major viewpoints I've run into.