Well rounded taekwondo

Axkick1

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello all, I have been going back and forth about which grappling style to train in on the side. I have a black belt In tang soo do but recently I’ve started training in Olympic style taekwondo. I have some experience in judo newaza but it is very basic. I would like to know what grappling art helps a taekwondo practitioner or is most beneficial to taekwondo. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you.

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Any. Depends more on your way of thinking, really.
Personally, I prefer stand up grappling arts (like Hapkido and Akido) over ground arts (like BJJ) simply because it is my opinion that being on the ground in a self defense situation is Bad Idea (tm). Other will disagree.

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Like DD, I have a preference for remaining standing. Judo is a good place to work from if, especially if you like the idea of competing (even within the dojo). You'll get a more limited range of responses in Judo than in something like Hapkido, because they tend to distill down to what works against other Judoka (and further, often, to what is allowed in competition), which is a much smaller population of techniques than what will work on everyone else. There's good and bad to that smaller list of techniques, IMO.

OP
Axkick1

Axkick1

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Like DD, I have a preference for remaining standing. Judo is a good place to work from if, especially if you like the idea of competing (even within the dojo). You'll get a more limited range of responses in Judo than in something like Hapkido, because they tend to distill down to what works against other Judoka (and further, often, to what is allowed in competition), which is a much smaller population of techniques than what will work on everyone else. There's good and bad to that smaller list of techniques, IMO.