TKD & Multiple Attackers (In reference to a quote by Exile)

foot2face

Green Belt
Reaction score
Exile wrote this in another forum and it got me thinking.

My impression is that none of the traditional MAs, much less the martial sports derived from those arts, were intended to provide combat techniques specifically designed to handle multiple attackers. But that point may have become somewhat clouded by the use of choreographed demos showing these technique sets being used impressively against multiple (sometimes even armed multiple) attackers. A lot of people who should know better, I sometimes think, confuse the showmanship that various arts use to promote themselves with techniques that are effective against noncompliant attackers in real situations—techniques which are, typically, the heart of the forms/drills making up the core curriculum of the TMAs.

I studied KKW TKD and part of the teachings included lessons on using our skills against multiple attackers. When I promoted to BB I had to spar against 2 attackers at once. It was my understanding that the KKW required facing multiple opponents for Dan promotions. Do they still require this? Do other styles of TKD have similar requirements?

FearlessFreep

Senior Master
Reaction score
In my last Hapkido class we worked on both tactics and techniques for addressing multiple opponents, and they weren't for demo purposes. A lot had to do with identifying threats and positioning. However a lot of the techniques themselves are found in Taekwondo as well because of the ranging they provide.

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I believe alot of folks get the Kukkiwon and the WTF mixed up alot, KKW is still up against multiple atttacker and the WTF is just about sport TKD so they are not one and the same but alot of people put them in the same catagory.

exile

To him unconquered.
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score