Pre-newbie: challenges of kenpo/kempo?

R

Roger Tibbets

Hi All -

I have never studied kenpo/kempo, so I know little about it, other than that it is a very comprehensive art.

I'm thinking of taking kenpo/kempo lessons, but would like to first get your inputs as to what are the challenging aspect of it, in particular those aspects that cause students to drop out.

I'd like to give you examples of my concern, so that you will know why I am asking. I hope that folks from other styles who are reading this don't take this as flame bait.

I studied Aikido and developed the impression that it has limitations with respect to being an effective way to learn self-defense, at least for those who have not studied for many years.

I studied a style of kung fu which I prefer not to name, and got bored with the very slow rate at which the instructor presented new information to me. In other words, it was months of practicing the stance, the introductory form, and pounding sandbags.

I realize that studying any martial art requires a certain attention span and patience, but at least I would like to be informed of the challenges if I am to start studying a particular style.

Thanks very much in advance for any comments you have on this topic.!

Rick Wade

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I will tell you that it will be hard to get bored because compared other MA systems American Kenpo has such a large amount of information that sometimes it can be daunting and hard to retain. But with that being said you will find areas of Kenpo and you will excel at different areas and that will turn the keys for the other parts.
Kind of like looking at a clock it is nice to see the hands turning at different rate but the amount of gears and teeth on each gear can be over whelming to comprehend but when you make a good clock it keeps good time. Welcome to Kenpo and enjoy your journey and I look forward to meeting you on that mats no matter what you end up taking.

V/R

Rick

MJS

Administrator