Kenpo Newbie

Stooooo

White Belt
Reaction score
As my title states I am a newbie in the world of Kenpo. But when I take something on I try an learn as much about it as possible. My question is how you know what form of Kenpo you are learning?

According to my schools webpage we are apart of the Parker/Trejo Lineage. I have also noticed from the plaques on the wall that the belt guidelines are from Ed Parker's Infinite Insights into Kenpo. I have not read these books yet, but I plan on it. Is this suggested reading? Any other books anyone would recommend?

Any links or information would be greatly appreciated.

All the best,
Stu

p.s. Prior to beginning my kenpo experience I studied Tae Kwon Do for 4 years reaching Green w/blue stripe level.

HKphooey

Senior Master
Reaction score
First off, welcome to MT!

Second, Infinite Insights are a definite must for any kenpo fan. Volumes 2-5 may be a bit over your head at first, but I would pick them up while you can (you never know when they will not be available).

Third, Parker/Trejo Lineage, It is a good lineage to be part off.

Fourth, use the search function on MartialTalk to read some old posts on the subject of kenpo and the different "flavors".

Welcome ot the world of kenpo!

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
As my title states I am a newbie in the world of Kenpo. But when I take something on I try an learn as much about it as possible. My question is how you know what form of Kenpo you are learning?

Sounds to me like you are learning Ed Parker's Kenpo, with Mr. Trejo being the senior student of Mr. Parker that taught the instructors in your lineage. But the way to find out for sure is to ask your instructor. Not every instructor teaches Kenpo the way they were taught Kenpo...it would be good for you to know how your instructor teaches. Plus, asking your instructors about their training can be a fascinating conversation. :)