New to Kenpo

Hawke

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Greetings!

I am a complete newbie to Kenpo. I am assuming all the letters before Kenpo represents a certain style. Are the many different styles that different? I am wondering what the differences may be.

EPAK (Ed Parker's Kenpo)

Kenpo 5.0 (Jeff Speakman's Kenpo)

SL4

UKS

I think that Tracey's is supposed to have kept the original teachings?

Not trying to start "my style is better than your style" flame war. I am looking for infomation and a better understanding of Kenpo. I am probably missing a whole lot more different Kenpo styles.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Sincerely,
Hawke

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
ok, I'll try to give a brief explanation here. You will find a lot more info throughout the threads here.

Ed Parker was a student of William Chow in Hawaii. William Chow was a student of James Mitose in Hawaii. Mr. Parker brought Kenpo to the Mainland in the 1950s or so.

Al, Jim, and Will Tracy were among Mr. Parker's early students. As Mr. Parker later made changes to how he practiced and taught the art, the Tracy brothers were in disagreement with him and wanted to maintain the art how Mr. Parker was teaching it to them. So eventually they split away from Mr. Parker. They claim to be teaching the entire art as it was taught to them by Mr. Parker in the 1950s and 1960s. They have also incorporated some Chinese Kung Fu material that they picked up along the way.

Mr. Parker continued to change the art, and what is now referred to as EPAK is the art practiced by those who stayed with him after the changes were made. But he continuously made changes, so there will still be differences between EPAK schools, depending on when their leaders trained with Mr. Parker. Some of these people have made their own changes in the system, while keeping the art based on EPAK. I believe Jeff Speakman and Paul Mills would fit into this category.