Practice at home?

kllrbee

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey all
Im new to the martial arts. I am contemplating signing up at the local kung fu school. I went to a free class yesterday and I really enjoyed it.
My main concern is that I can only attend once a week on saturdays. There is no way around it as the weekday classes are held in the evenings and i work 2nd shift. I have checked other schools around my area and they are all basically the same.
Luckily, almost no one regularly shows up on saturdays. So its slmost like an hour and half of private instruction.
The instructor said that I will get "homework" to work on during the week. Which is no problem cuz all my mornings are free. I realize that I can work on footwork, stances, forms, etc, but I was wondering what could actually substitea real person. The wooden dummies are way too expensive and Im not yo great at homemade stuff....so building one is not an option.
I was thinking more along the lines of a heavy bag with the wing chun attachmate. Anyone have any experience with these? Would they be acceptable for a beginner?
Or would a freestanding bag be better? Not even sure if i could use attachmate with a freestanding bag....
Any thoughs and comments are appreciated.

hussaf

Green Belt
Reaction score
Martial arts schools are notorious for being poor at advertising. Give a good second or third look for schools that may have day classes. Full time schools often have high levels of instruction (but can also tend to be McDojo, so be careful).

Takai

Senior Master
Reaction score