New perspective on training

Kickboxer101

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
So I've been doing kenpo again for about 3 months now and I've realised my priorities and perspectives on training martial arts have changed. At first it was all about fitness and power and speed and just punches and kicks but now because of kenpo it's more than that. I still enjoy doing fitness training of course but now I enjoy doing the kenpo techniques and analysing what I'm doing and watching what other people and seeing the different variations that they do and then discussing it with them like why they do it that way and why I do it my way and then trying out the different ways and seeing what works best. I feel now I'm understanding martial arts more than I did when I was just hitting pads. I feel like I'm learning more about the body mechanics and the target areas to aim for in a real fight and what to cancel out on your opponent.

Now I'm not as fussed if I don't end up getting a sweat on or throw hundreds of punches a night. Of course I'm still doing that as well but I'm enjoying things in different ways now. I think kenpo and kickboxing really do compliment each other well. The kickboxing gives you more cardio and strength and conditioning and more work on the basic punches and kicks and kenpo works on more technical aspects like how to offset your opponents balance and cancel out their depth and things like that.

marques

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I know quite well both "versions". And I consider the second version (the technical one) a gift of God! :D It is so hard to find... While the first version can be teached by non martial artists and replaced quite well by a range of sports.

But recently, I started appreciating the fitness version. My fitness level is no more good enough by nature. And I do not find enough motivation for other sports...

I like them both, too.

OP
Kickboxer101

Kickboxer101

Master Black Belt
Reaction score