Music and kata?

Lisa

Don't get Chewed!
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Let me just start out saying I am no expert on different traditional martial arts nor am I trying to flame any particular traditional art here. I am simply curious as to why. Let me explain.

Last night at a wind up at a community centre I heard what sounded to me like East Indian music playing. I am not sure how to explain it but it sounded like crying actually. Anyways... upon hearing this music floating down from upstairs, I asked another person at the wind up what that was. He told me there was a karate class going on upstairs.

Karate? I thought... huh? In my very limited experience I had never heard of playing this type of music, or any music actually during a karate class so I went upstairs to investigate and found the students in this particular school doing kata/forms to this music.

My question is.. is this often done? The sign said Shito-Ryu karate, which, if I remember correctly is Okinawan in origin. Why was this type of music playing and is playing music while doing forms/kata common in certain types of karate? Anyone that can give me some information on this subject, it would be much appreciated. Unfortunately I didn't have a chance to talk with the instructor to get his insight on it.

Thanks

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It's part of the new age of MA'ers flash, special techniques that include some gymnastics with them not much tradition in that. I day keep doing tradition and leave all the gymkata and music for those wishing to be part of a Mc Dojo in my personal experience.

R

rmcpeek

I've seen it done and used. I am not a fan of using it for Kata though. I think that the student should be focusing on the kata. Although, if they're focus is really good, you could always try distracting them with music. Hmmmmm. :uhyeah:

Rich

hammer

Green Belt
Reaction score
There may be a few different points of view on the subject,