Mass Attacks

Sam

Senior Master
Reaction score
Let me start off by saying that I generally do not enjoy katas. Once I have learned the entire thing I do learn to appreciate it some - and I see the value of kata - but in general, I do not like katas.

I started learning mass attacks last night, and I got to the right inverted chop, left chop, right palm to the groin.

I LOVE THIS KATA.

that is all.

:rofl:

Seriously though. Why did this kata not suck, and why is it so much easier to learn than the long and shorts 1-3? I practiced it like 7 times before I went to sleep - and I never practice kata! (I know, I'm going to karate hell for that if I don't soon change my ways).

I like this kata.

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
Hi Sam,

Alot of folks on this board won't know this form as it is particular to the Tracy's system. My understanding is that it was originally designed as a tournament form, and was supposed to showcase some of the differences between kenpo and the more traditional styles out there. It also isn't really designed (IMO) as an educational vehicle so that may be why you find it fun to do.

Lamont

Seabrook

Black Belt
Reaction score
Here is what I have been told about Mass Attacks from Ted Sumner. In the early 1960s, Ed Parker gave the Tracy brothers, along with several other of his black belts, permission to create a form for use in open competition. The black belts created Mass Attacks, and Ed Parker approved of it as an "unauthorized" Kenpo form that could be used for competition. Ed Parker also gave permission for any participant to alter or stylize the form to suit themselves for the tournament. Subsequently, the form had become a requirement in the Tracy system, but not in American Kenpo.

Hope that helps.

Jamie Seabrook
www.seabrook.gotkenpo.com

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
DutchKenpo said:
Hello,

Is there a written piece on the mass attack form?
sounds interresting or maybe even a video?