in desperate need of help!

hakim

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been training muay thai for 3 months now, I've advanced alot and besides the formal training 3 times a week (each training is around 1,5 hours with sundays being 2 hours) I try to practice balance and shadowbox atleast 15 - 30 minutes a day and it's really been paying off, however I have to improve my guard or I wont be able to move onto the advanced courses due to the risk of serious injury. My trainer told me to shadowbox and try to hold my guard up with weights because it'd increase my stamina when guarding, he also recommended asking a friend to punt me with boxing gloves on until I stop flinching etc.

I've only sparred 3 times and even though I'm well versed in my overall offense my biggest issue is blinking, dropping my guard and my natural reaction to kicks with trying to block them by lowering my guard .. I have about a month to improve my guard, any tips?

WC_lun

Senior Master
Reaction score
What you are discribing is very, very natural with beginners. I see intermediates many times do the same thing. Your instructor should have training methodolgies specifically to address those weaknesses. One of the things it is going to take is time. I honestly would put no beginner in an advanced class after only four months. You are expecting way too much from yourself.

Touch Of Death

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score