Do you practice outside of class?

Badger1777

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hello all.

A couple of months ago, my son and I joined a new martial arts club. We're loving it, but we're not very good at it yet.

Here is a dilemma I face. Do we practice at home between classes or not?

Here's what I'm thinking.

On one hand, if we practice at home, then obviously that would generally be a good thing. BUT, as we're still total beginners, what we currently do will not be quite right. I'm worried that if we practice without the supervision of our instructor, all that will happen is we will perfect the art of doing it wrong.

Any thoughts?

donnaTKD

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
i practice all the time outside of the gym --- it's the only way to get to grips with things :)

also if you practice in front of a mirror then you can correct yourself so that when you next go to class then with a bit luck and a following wind it'll be good enough :)

KydeX

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Practice at home. Just try to practice what you have been taught in class. Don't add stuff from other sources.

donald1

Senior Master
Reaction score
Don't worry, I never seen a form done perfectly and i know certainly i never been perfect. Mistakes are going to happen. But with practice they can be better than they were before practice. Focus on what your instructor has been getting on to you for. If he/she says fix something that would be something to focus on while practicing at home.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello all.

A couple of months ago, my son and I joined a new martial arts club. We're loving it, but we're not very good at it yet.