Can a blind person learn martial arts?

Stev

White Belt
Reaction score
I am writing a fictional novel about a young boy (age 10) who gets temporarily blinded for 4-5 years. It’s fantasy so obviously that even won’t happen in real life, but in my book all are aware that eventually he will get his vision back.

If you were assigned to teach a 10 year old boy any form of fighting (from any form of self-defence/fighting that you know/trained in) who is blind, what style(s) would you teach him? How do you think you would approach this? (Pertaining to those who have experience)

Would you have him work on strength/endurance/flexibility skills for 4-5 years and then start the actual training when his vision comes back?

Could a blind person learn to do rudimentary fighting techniques (Ie. hand/hand combat…not sure what else)?

Please let me know, I have no knowledge of martial arts except for stereotypes and I would like for it to be realistic (aside from the fantasy genre with unrealistic qualities…)

Also if you have any random info you think might apply to this let me know.

Thx so much

Also an after thought: If a student learned daily one on one practice with a coach for 4-5 years, what would they be like after their sight came back? Would they have an edge to other students when they learn a wider variety of fighting styles or any hindrances you could think of?

Great replies so far thx a lot!

Last edited:

Monkey Turned Wolf

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score