Terminology

R

Rob_Broad

With so many styles out on the market in these days, I have noticed a trend and would like everybodies opinion on it. Many yrs ago I studied some TKD and every body had to learn the terminology in Korean, a few yrs after that I trained in Shorin Ryu and we learned Okinawan terminology, that to me was par for the course. Now adays it hard to find a school that uses the traditional terminology for the basics in the originating language. Yes they all count from 1 to 10 in class, but that is susally as far as it goes. I am wondering if anyone sees a problem with this. should people still have to learn a foriegn language to study some styles, or is it a bad thing to do because it frustrates people and they end up leaving class because they came to learn to defend themselves not come for language classes. I will wait for a few replies before I give my opinion on this.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
One reason I like studying the martial arts vice pure combatives training is that I get some exposure to another culture, including some language and philosophy. It's intellectually interesting, horizon expanding, and it's occasionally helpful in real life. So for me, this is a plus.

OP
F

fist of fury

I don't think it should be required to learn but should be taught. I like learning it myself but there are other people who aren't interested and shouldn't be forced to.

OP
K

Kirk

I agree with fist of fury, I don't think it should be required
knowledge at all, but some exposure to other cultures can
be a growing experience. Just don't make it a condition of
my promotion.

Turner

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Shitshurei shimasu