Study with the sourch

tshadowchaser

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Some simple questions:
How many of you have studied with the head (grandmaster) of your system?
Now how many have studied with the grandmaster of any system?
For those that answer:
How many of these Grandmaster are a direct decent Being awarded the title after the death of the previous one?
How many where given the title by the old Grandmaster when he/she steped down due to illness, old age, impending death.
How many where given the title because they had taught a system for so long that it had become theirs through subtle canges they had incorparated(sp)?
Shadow

PS I'm not asking how many bought their rank or gave it to themselves

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I studied with Prof. Presas via his camps and seminars. He of course was not handed his title from a previous grandmaster but was certainly awarded it in some sense by his peers in the Philippines.

N

nathan_sau

Taht sort of thing i can only dream about unfortunatly...
:asian:

Matt Stone

Master of Arts
Reaction score
My teacher, Sifu Phillip "Pete" Starr, current "master" (we all really hate that term, but I use it here for ease of understanding) of Yiliquan kung fu, is the hereditary "grandmaster" (hate that one even worse) of Baixingquan kung fu, from which Yiliquan sprang forth 20 years ago...

Unfortunately, I haven't had the privilige of training under anyone else of the same level, though I have an invitation to join training under Sensei Phil Relnick in Shinto Muso-ryu Jojutsu in Washington once I move there this September (he was/is a friend and contemporary of Donn Draeger, and holds menkyo kaiden in SMR and I believe Katori Shinto-ryu Iaijutsu...).

:samurai: :tank:

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hi All,

I have had the great privilege to train with