Tang Soo Do and Frustration

Kaygee

Blue Belt
Reaction score
To spare most of you the pain of having to listen to my story again, I will keep it short. I studied Tang Soo Do for 2 1/2 years and obtained my 2nd gup rank. I felt that my practice became stale and boring as there is no new material to learn between 3rd and 2nd gup and it is a year's time between the ranks because you can test for 1st.

Anyway, in the middle of October, I left the Tang Soo Do school. Not to go anywhere else, but for a break. I was not happy. I went to an MMA school after sitting around for a while and, well, this is my story. I came back last Thursday and the test that I should have been testing for 1st gup in, past that Saturday and they did not let me test. (rightfully so, as it would have been my 2nd class back)Tell me what you think and if any wise masters out there can help me because I can already see myself getting bored again if I have to wait until March to test for 1st gup.......or am I being selfish? Before this, my record was spotless! I attended every class without missing any (outside of the common injury here and there) so I am failing to see why I have to wait to test again.

Anyway, help!

My Return To Tang Soo Do

by Kaygee on Saturday, December 1, 2012 at 12:03am ·

Well, what a crazy two months it has been. If you are taking the time to read this, then you are somewhat interested in the reason why I chose to go back to Tang Soo Do. I think it can be summed up in a single phrase:

"You don't know what you've got, till it's gone."

I do regret the fact that I took the time away from the art, but at the same time, I don't. I was becoming increasingly bored and I needed a break, and I got one and realized where my heart truly lies. I also do not regret the month that I spent at the MMA/BJJ school. I learned a lot, and I am glad I experienced it because it provided a completely different perspective of what Mixed Martial Arts actually means to me.