studentes of schools vs students of non schools

suicide

Black Belt
Reaction score
is it really that important to belong to a school or orginization when studying the martial arts :ultracool

bluekey88

Senior Master
Reaction score
In a word, yes. You don't have to belong ot facny school with all new equpiment...but you need to be hooked in with a good instuctor and a few quality training partners.

If you don't have this, then you arelikely not to get much value out of your training time. The instructor will tyeach...he/she will show you what you need tyo work on and help keep errors from creeping into what you do (and this will happen without an experienced eye watching over your shoulder). Your traning partners will allow you to put theory to practice. They will be there to push you as your skills grow.

Can you learn from a video on your own? Maybe...I just don't think you'll learn effectively.

In another part of my life, I'm a musician. Playing music is very much like doing martial arts....lots of similarities of overlap. Anyway, as a musician, I'm pretyy good...even graduated from a respected music school awhile back. I've had the priviledge to learn from some of the best.

After i graduated, I decided that I needed to do something different in m music training (I'm primarily a keybpardist)...I decided to pick up the guitar. Being poor, I did not seek out lessons. I used waht I new of music theory, msuicianship, etc to guide me...and I worked hard. For years I did this, pisking up bits and pieces here and there. For Christmas, I was given guitar lessons...I've learned more in a month or so with this teacher than I have after 15 years of working by mysslf.

Bottom line, on my own, I made progress, but it was slow...and I had to work through my own errors and misconceptions (without the knowledge to make that work easier). With a teacher, my training and progress is drmatically improved and accelerated.

The same holds true for MA in my opinion.

Peace,
Erik