Starting Training Again

Robbo

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Hey Everybody,

After a year and a half layoff I going to start training again. I had been training for 15 years before that.

I'm going to start with a friend and up to this point I have not started to stretch again or do simple conditioning exercises.

My goal at this point is to completly review the system up to where I was at before and along the way pickup the conditioning from form work, self defense's, etc.

I have a good idea of where to start but...

What you would work on first?

Rob

Y

yilisifu

Basics. Always basics. When they feel sharp and strong again, move forward from there.

K

Kenpomachine

Originally posted by Robbo
Hey Everybody,

After a year and a half layoff I going to start training again. I had been training for 15 years before that.

Rob

Just go through all the material you had, reviewing first the material for yellow belt and from there up.

Well, at least that's what I did when I was in your case.

Zujitsuka

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Welcome back Robbo. Conditioning should be your priority, however, just because you're not in good shape right now, don't think that you have to wait until you are in good shape to jump into training. My reasoning is that if you're in good shape, you'll be less prone to injury and your techniques will have more pop (speed and power).

Also, you can have a ton of mental toughness and be a walking encyclopedia of techniques, but if your body cannot answer the call, it doesn't mean a thing.

I highly recommend Scrapper's workout routines.

You can print them out for FREE at http://www.trainforstrength.com

All the best to you and your training Robbo.

Sincerely,

M

Master of Blades

If I miss a week I feel weird so I hope you do fine when you start again. Just make sure you are completly ready before doing anything too advanced. :asian:

M

Master of Blades

What exactly are you starting again by the way? :confused:

:asian:

OP
R

Robbo

Purple Belt