Recovering from injury

seca2man

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello: I just started training again after a 10+ year absence. I've kept myself in pretty good aerobic shape and I usually take care to perform a thorough stretch and warm up before each class. Started sparring today and now my groin muscles feel like they're on fire! Guess I haven't kicked much during the past 10 years.

Any advice on how to strengthen the groin area? I've got pretty strong legs so I'm surprised I pulled a muscle in this area. Any advice on recovery? I'm doing a lot of butterfly stretches along with Advil! I guess part of the problem is also that I'm 10 years older and no longer a young buck! Thanks for any helpful hints on how to recover from this injury

Full salute

Sean

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello: I just started training again after a 10+ year absence. I've kept myself in pretty good aerobic shape and I usually take care to perform a thorough stretch and warm up before each class. Started sparring today and now my groin muscles feel like they're on fire! Guess I haven't kicked much during the past 10 years.

Any advice on how to strengthen the groin area? I've got pretty strong legs so I'm surprised I pulled a muscle in this area. Any advice on recovery? I'm doing a lot of butterfly stretches along with Advil! I guess part of the problem is also that I'm 10 years older and no longer a young buck! Thanks for any helpful hints on how to recover from this injury

Full salute

Sean

It sounds to me that you pushed yourself a bit harder than you should have. Given the long absence, I'd really make sure you're warmed up. I wouldn't push your kicks too much right now. Give your body a chance to get used to all of this activity again.

Mike

Colin_Linz

Blue Belt
Reaction score