At What Point To Start Training Other Arts?

Gerry Seymour

MT Moderator
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
It depends on what it is you are trying to mix, and what you are trying to accomplish by doing so. "Fixing" one system by mixing in fundamental principles from another system is not likely to work well. That is the impression I got from the OP, in what he is thinking of.
Agreed. Fixing a system with incomplete understanding of a second one is unlikely to be useful. If he's just thinking of combining (in himself) two disparate arts to get the strengths of both, that's a different matter.

OP
Psilent Knight

Psilent Knight

Blue Belt
Reaction score
there is often much that can be incorporated within the context of another system quite readily. It doesn't even require real depth of understanding of the donor art, just a bit of understanding of a principle or two that work well with (and can be adapted to) the primary system.

Although I realize that I am no expert in the Martial Arts, based on the knowledge that I do have I must say that I find myself in agreement with this explanation. In fact, I'm sure this practice has much to do with the birthing of new styles in the Martial Arts.

Osu!

OP
Psilent Knight

Psilent Knight

Blue Belt
Reaction score
"Fixing" one system by mixing in fundamental principles from another system is not likely to work well. That is the impression I got from the OP, in what he is thinking of.