Similarities of Kung Fu San Soo and Krav Maga?

ItstheFNG

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey everyone, first post, good to be here and hope that being part of a community of martial artists is as bad *** as I would think!

So a little of me first as backstory for my question. I'm 18, live in a small redneck town in Idaho, graduate in a couple months, and am a first degree black belt in Kung Fu San Soo. Or, more accurately, I have been training for almost 7 years. I received my black belt a year and a half ago and was recently promoted. Unfortunately, it will be my last promotion in San Soo for a very long time.

My parents recently divorced and I live with my mom. But upon graduation, both of my parents are moving, mom to New England and dad to NC. I will be going with my dad. And as far as Google can tell us, there are no San Soo schools in the Raleigh area (we will be near there). But, it has also told us that there is a Krav Maga school there. I am eligible and actively teach and can actually open a school where I want, but near the end of the summer I will be going to Air Force basic training, so just taking a different art is much more sensible.

From what I have seen, Krav Maga is quite similar to San Soo in many ways, but the biggest is practical self defense. At the risk of offending people, I really don't want to be taking a sport. From my biased opinion coming from a background like mine, many arts are sports to me. That is awesome in its own right, but I feel that they can't compare to a (for the lack of a better term) street-defense art, at least in my hands.

Raleigh is a large area, so obviously there are many martial arts taught around the area. A well-known school that teaches Muay Thai and Jiu-Jitsu intrigued me, but thanks to a recent shoulder surgery, I don't think that Jiu-Jitsu would be healthy for the shoulder repair at this stage in recovery.