Sai usage? Just wondering...

W

Wertle

In high school I had friends involved in Shaolin-do, and I often went to visit them at their tests and classes and tournaments and whatnot.

I noticed that in their system, they seemed to use the sai primarily in a stabbing/piercing fashion, whereas in my system, we tend to use it in a bludgeoning fashion, striking with the side. I thought this was a very interesting difference.

How do you sai-users tend to use the weapon?

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
You might also raise this issue in the Karate forum.

When I studied Isshin-ryu there was a lot of bludgeoning as you put it. Later I learned Gojushiho-no-sai from Shorin-ryu and it had a lot of hooking techniques--really, grappling techniques.

OP
W

Wertle

Later I learned Gojushiho-no-sai from Shorin-ryu and it had a lot of hooking techniques--really, grappling techniques.

Yeah, that was one big similarity I noticed between my friends' and my system, lots of hooking and grappling! The bludgeoning vs. piercing thing was the major difference I was aware of.

Has anyone seen any other big differences as well?

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
In Okinawa-te, though we didn't extensively train with the sai, we trained for bludgeoning, stabbing, and hooking/grappling. Basically, all of the above, using every part of the weapon.

Cthulhu

Goldendragon7

Grandmaster
Reaction score
We first learned to block the samuri sword with them and throw off the blade ...... several different blocks then we learned to snap them while striking and also stab with them..... there were many uses :asian:

OP
R

RyuShiKan

Originally posted by Wertle

In high school I had friends involved in Shaolin-do, and I often went to visit them at their tests and classes and tournaments and whatnot.