Understanding the knife encounter.

OP
BLACK LION

BLACK LION

Black Belt
Reaction score
All of those options come to fruition once you injure them. the control or "defanging the snake" or whatever terminology that could be used to describe the "de-tooling" or "disarming" process... sometimes striking is simultaneous with control or disarming like a knife to the throat... sometimes deflection and striking is simultaneous, like a knife to the back ... sometimes is just striking... but never should it just be about control or disarming the tool....

sgtmac_46

Senior Master
Reaction score
Ok, once back in my more foolish and drunken days before I started training martial arts (we won't go into the details ...), I had a HUGE bouncer (6 foot 3 inches or so, athletic build of about 260) do exactly what you are proposing.

He TRIED to kick me in the nuts. His foot stopped in its upward arc about an inch below my testicles. His eyes bugged out in complete surprise for the millisecond before I punched him square in his teeth.

I was later informed by law enforcment officers that that bouncer ended up in the hospital. What if I had been a knife wielder instead? That one stab to the face would have been the end for him.

You can't depend on a kick to the nuts. Ergo, trading nut kicks for stabs banking that you are going to end the fight with said kick is a BAD idea.

I've been struck in the testicles on several occasions.......yeah, it hurts.......but it's an interesting sort of pain that can be ignored until business is finished many times. Adrenaline is a funny thing.

sgtmac_46

Senior Master
Reaction score