Promotion stanrdards (Split from Is it disrespectful to ask [...])

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
I was thinking about asking after class when I'm a black belt, if he has less of a problem with it then since I've already been taught the fundamentals of the modern way of doing it. I have been training for 4 years and will recieve my black belt next year.
Eugh I hate when people say that "you will recieve your black belt next year" well how do you know you will you may fail the test I just can't stand it when people say that like they know they're going to be given no matter what

MA_Student

Black Belt
Reaction score
Eugh I hate when people say that "you will recieve your black belt next year" well how do you know you will you may fail the test I just can't stand it when people say that like they know they're going to be given no matter what
Agreed always makes me cringe

Axiom

Black Belt
Reaction score
WOW you can kick a mitt and jump? Wow give this guy a black belt right now

Believe it or not, most students struggle with executing proper sidekicks. They throw them like front kicks on the side extended. Even my buddy who is more flexible than I and has done TKD in the past doesn't get the mechanics down correctly.

OP
H

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
Believe it or not, most students struggle with executing proper sidekicks. They throw them like front kicks on the side extended. Even my buddy who is more flexible than I and has done TKD in the past doesn't get the mechanics down correctly.
What a load of rubbish side kicks are some of the easiest kicks you can throw also what does flexibility have to do with anything you can throw side kicks as low as the knee

MA_Student

Black Belt
Reaction score
Maybe because he gives me the thumbs up whenever I sidekick a mitts?:cool: Has openly stated that I'm good, says I'm a great jumper. To hear that from a 9th dan who is a perfectionist is very gratefying. But my journey has of course only begun.