New to muay thai

R

Ricky_muay_thai

hey everyone im very new to muay thai and have just been training a little on my own at home

i got a new 6 foot punch bag the other day, the make of the bag is called "respect" any one heard of this?

its pretty heavy maybe 100lb+ and rock hard

can anyone give me some tips on how to execute the kick that the muay thai fighters use on each other, i mean the kick that usually lands on the opponents thigh or a little higher and makes that real loud snapping/slapping sound. Sorry i dont know the technical term for it

i only want to practice and dont want to hit the bag too hard to begin with

i dont want to get into the habit of landing my kicks the wrong way and have a sloppy style

also my punch bag is super hard and my shins go quite red from the slapping, is this normal and does anyone have any advice or tips for me?

i am talking about just the normal kick the muay thai fighters use which usually lands on the opponents thigh, not anything to technical

i'm just trying to get used to balancing on the other foot while i am kicking the punch bag. what part of my foot and shin should make contact with the bag?

also how do you practise getting the leg kick higher and higher? my groin area seems to feel really stretched if i do this.

Thanks for any replies as i am new to muay thai

sorry for so many questions any reply will be fine

thanks guys

ricky

Solidman82

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Use your shin as a club and hit on the top part of it (the hard part at the very front of your leg, not near your knee but more in the middle of your leg.) It'll hurt at first but that's normal, work through the pain. The reason they can kick eachother so hard is because they condition and train like madmen. The pain will go away after you strengthen and desensitize your shins.

Also, the kick should come from your hips, not your knee. Make sure to torque them into it hard.

Good luck!

OP
R

Ricky_muay_thai

Hi mate

thanks for the reply