Muay Thai sparring

DA R00ki3

White Belt
Reaction score
hello everyone i'm new to the fourm, but i have some questions about Muay Thai sparring.

Well my question is i've been doing Muay Thai for about three months and i currently train with a Muay Thai teacher from Thailand, there is a long time student of his that has been training with him for over seven or eight years. I have a hard time hitting him in the ring when we spar and i have a habit of flinching when he comes at me. He tells me to relax and just take it as a play fight, we're not trying to knock each others heads off. And i have a habit of staying in one spot and throwing the same combos.

Any suggestions that can help?

thaistyle

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Definitely relax. One thing that works pretty well is to start off slow during the sparring session. Have your sparring partner go slower than normal. This will help you learn to attack or counter-attack and it helps you to learn to relax. Also you have to remember that you have been training just a few months while this other student has years of training. It takes a little time but you will get it with constant training. Hope this helps you out.

micah

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
relax and move with confidence at the same time...get in a rhythm if u can, dont flinch, but react if u need to. dont worry about u only being there for 3 months, it all takes time..

if you want to learn fast, go slow, if u want to learn slow, go fast.

King

Green Belt
Reaction score
There isn't much that I can say that thaistyle and Micah haven't said. The only thing I can give you is encouragement. It does take time to learn how to relax in the ring and only more practice will solve that. Remember to have fun with it and actually enjoy the rush :)