Kihon Happo roots

F

Fool Wolf

Hi everyone,

I am a novice ninjutsu practitioner, but well read on the theory and history (probably not as well read as a lot of you guys). I have recently become interested in the kihon happo. I believe Hatsumi soke took it from Gyokko ryu. The below link lists techniques called "kihon happo" to a Jujutsu school. The names for a lot of the moves are similar to the Bujinkan techniques. Is there a relationship between Gyokko ryu and the Jujutsu school mentioned? Which came first? In my current Jujutsu class I have been suprised at how many of the techniques are similar to what I have seen of Bujinkan budo taijutsu. I would be curious to hear any of your thoughts on this matter.

peace
FW

http://mypages.smig.net/users/jtweymo/Kihon_happo.htm

Kizaru

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Fool Wolf said:
Is there a relationship between Gyokko ryu and the Jujutsu school mentioned? Which came first? In my current Jujutsu class I have been suprised at how many of the techniques are similar to what I have seen of Bujinkan budo taijutsu. I would be curious to hear any of your thoughts on this matter.
From what I see, the jujutsu school you refer to has a loose connection to Takagi Yoshin ryu. I've been told that Gyokko ryu came to Japan at about the year 1100 CE and had an influence on a few martial arts in Japan; Takagi Yoshin ryu being one of them. On the other side of the coin, I've been told that some of the Takagi Yoshin ryu kihon happo katas are different than those from Gyokko ryu. For example, one uses Oni Kudaki, another does not.