Katas keep them or chuck them ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

asoka

This is thread is to share opinions not to put down or offend anyone,can't handle it then don't stay in here.

I'm a martial artist at heart and have been studying it for 16 yrs.from my experience in different style,I have formed my opinion that katas are nothing more then a waste of time.

Should we keep katas or chuck'em?I would say chuck'em but that's me.

First of all katas are pre-arranged movements done without an opponent simply kicking,punching and blocking nothing but air.

Second how much of the hidden techniques in katas actually work? very few.Those techniques that look like they could work,probably would if practiced against someone instead of in a form.

Some would question that and say it's not the forms it's the instructor teaching it,perhaps,but if the instructor himself doesn't know the application to the forms which most don't then how can you expect to unless you checkout a book or video.Instructors only know what they have been taught and quite often teach it exactly it that way instead of being creative and improving the art.

In Traditional arts one must be ashamed to change the way the masters had taught their style and the masters before them.This theory is wrong,people need to change according to life style.What may have worked then won't work now.Unfortunately many students have been brain washed into believing that if forms were useless they wouldn't still be teaching them after so many years,and often don't realize the main reason forms is because it's the way the arts were originally taught.

Even then does anyone really know if these forms ever really worked even back then,I don't know,perhaps they did,but they definitely won't now.