Judo, Aikido, and Bjj: Similarities and Differences

Hanzou

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I thought it would be interesting to run a compare and contrast of the three major styles of post-Jujutsu. I think we have enough stylists here to compare notes and experiences to have an interesting discussion.

I'll start us off:

Judo- Sport oriented, yet rigid. Movements purposely removed because of competition rules. Experiencing a burst of popularity due to MMA and Bjj. Famous for throwing.

Bjj- Sport oriented, yet eclectic. Style influenced by several sources. Famous for ground fighting, and dominance in early MMA.

Aikido- Generally Non-Sport oriented. Characterized by circular movements leading to throws and pins. Probably the most "traditional" of the three.

That's very general. Hopefully some other posters would be willing to add to it. :)

Shai Hulud

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Can't really talk about BJJ much as I've no actual experience with it, but I've observed Aikido for a while now and have some experience in Judo.

From what I can gather, the non-competitive Aikido seems more esoterical and focused on that essential "transfer of energy" we see in Japanese wrestling. It's much more gentle and "spiritual", if I may, compared to Judo. I think Ueshiba was going for a more sublime art when he made his own derivative of Jujutsu.

Dr. Kano's Judo, as a distillation of the old jujutsu, was really intended for martial sport and competition. Besides sharing Aikido's principles on energy transfer and economy of force, it also has a good deal to do biomechanics, and physics. It also goes a lot further than the tewaza-dominated array of techniques we see in Aikido. We see sweeps, reaps, hip throws and shoulder throws in Judo as well, and a substantial framework for ground techniques involving pins, chokes and arm-bars.

Hope this helped. :)

OP
Hanzou

Hanzou

Grandmaster
Reaction score