How many hours went into your BB?

faerie2

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Just curious, some people think in terms of years, but some train a couple of hours every single day, some train 1-2 days/week for an hour. Obviously, there is a big difference between training 300 or so hours/year and 50 hours/year.

I guess as a side question, how often do you train, BB or not?

Another student at my Dojang is a little cranky with me because I am promoted regularly (although, not a BB yet), and he is not - although I train 6 days/week and he's there maybe 2 days/month, HA!

garrisons2

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Timely question, I have been working out in the dojang for just over 21 months, an average of 3.5 days a week, so I guess that would put me around 300 dojang hrs. I'd say that at this rate probably a total of 400 to 450 dojang hrs, 6-9 mths , with below average coordination, but above average determination. Enjoy the journey

terryl965

<center><font size="2"><B>Martial Talk Ultimate<BR
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
it was two hours a day for 5 years and that was 5-6 days a week.

miguksaram

Master of Arts
Reaction score
On average about 3 hours a day 5 days a week 6 hours on Saturday. Now this includes my teaching time as I include that as part of my training as well. If we are talking just physical training, then that would be average 1.5 hours 2-3 times during the week 2 hours on the weekend.

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Classes were 2-2.5 hours a day & I'd go 3-4 days a week for 2.5 years before I tested for 1st Dan.

MasterWright

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Normally I train as I teach, so about 8 hours a week plus tournaments and seminars. About 400 hours a year for the required time to test in the WTF.

Thanks for the post, it's interesting to know how much we do. Time passes and we tend to forget about that.

BrandonLucas

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score