How do you train Chi-Sau in your WC

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Well I've been back into training for several months now after a lay-off of many years, and I've been reflecting a lot on training methods. In the various branches of WT with which I have some experience, Chi-sau is taught in two steps. Each set of movements and applications is systematically introduced in a sort of Chi-Sau form, usually referred to as "Section 1, 2, 3, etc." Then, after the movements become well trained, they are integrated into your body of free-form Chi-sau movements which can be applied randomly when an opening is presented. This free-form Chi-sau can be practiced cooperatively or really cranked up to where it becomes Chi-Sau sparring. How do you approach Chi-sau training in your system?

OP
G

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Oops, on second look, I guess the title of this thread is a bit...er...unfortunate. Sorry. I'm sure you don't do chi-sau in the WC at all. I'm an American and I really did not mean to say that.

profesormental

Brown Belt
Reaction score
LOL!!!

That was funny!!

Actually, I've heard that the reason for romanizing the characters for Wing Chun into "Ving Tsun" was exactly to avoid being called WC kung fu (bathroom kung fu)...

I guess that caused a lot of fights back in the day in Hong Kong.

I'll answer when I get back... lot's of things going on!!

Juan M. Mercado

graychuan

Blue Belt
Reaction score