Hey guys - couple questions

The_Fish

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm Nick, 20 years old from the UK and I'm new to the world of martial arts. I've had a couple lessons in Aikido so far and whilst I have been enjoying myself at these lessons, I ultimately feel that Aikido is not what I am looking for in a martial art. There is very little focus upon striking (or rather, the 'type of striking' I would be interested in, not atemi which is a big part of Aikido I am led to believe) and I would like something that had a little more emphasis on striking - kicks and punches - as well as locks and the like. I feel Hapkido would be perfect for me, but alas, there are no places of instruction anywhere near me.

What matters most to me is that it is an effective self-defence system. What also put me off with Aikido is the reputed length of time it takes to become proficient in that respect as opposed to other martial arts. I am not impatient by any means - I understand the fundemental principles behind a martial art do not come overnight - but Aikido apparently takes longer than many other/most martial arts. I think I can see why.

I have began exploring other avenues in my area, and have found:

- A couple of places that teach Wado-Ryu Karate and other styles of Karate. Karate doesn't appeal to me that much at all, as from what I have heard from practitioners both in real life and from trawling forums is that it is very kata-based and not always particularly effective. I am looking for a style that is very real, that can be very much applied in a real life scenario - any karateka able to perhaps shed some light on this? Am I hearing just very biased opinions based on bad experiences?