Beginner asking for guidance

calipt

White Belt
Reaction score
Dear Martial Arts guru's,

I am a 25yo male from Belgium, Europe and I registered here to ask for some advice and guidance into the world of martial arts. I have little to no experience in this world, except for a few things. My father has a MA past. He had his own Ju-Jitsu club in his younger years, but quit when I was born (also due to back problems). I've always been curious because alot of the equipment is still lying in his house (mats, weapons, kimonos, belts, punchbags etc).
I've also practiced Karate for a year or so, but that was at a young age and mainly due to a close friend who was a green belt and I wanted to try it. Due to age and other hobbies I did not continue it.

At this moment, I'm not practicing any active sport (I played high level basketball in national leagues but due to work I had to quit after 12 years of playing). I came to the conclusion that martial arts is really suited for me and now, with the spare time and motivation, I decided to take up the challenge and step into this world. I have a few questions tho that I'd love to see answered by experienced people here so in advance, thanks already for any replies.
Excuse me for the long text but I might aswell explain everything so I have to ask it once instead of posting replies with more questions!

What am I looking for in a martial art:
- pleasure
- competition
- intensity
- effectiveness
- discipline
- Something where I can relieve myself from the society's problems, frustrations, personal issues, forget everything and just focus on that one thing for a few hours a few times a week.
- physical training (flexibilty, stamina, endurance,...)
- self defence
- friendship & social aspects

These are my main goals for practicing a martial art.

Which martial arts are currently having my attention:
1° Taekwondo
2° Aikido
3° Ju-Jitsu
4° Krav Maga