Help me choose a new MA.

V

vin2k0

I've been studying karate now for 9 years and am wondering whether or not to try another art. I'm curious how it would compare to what i already know. Jujitsu seems appealing to me but how would i be starting from scratch if i am used to being knowledgable? Any help would be appreciated. What MA would you recommend me picking up? im know pretty much nothing about any other MA so thought id ask in here. Also, which art is a little more of a full-contact art?

Yari

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Originally posted by vin2k0
I've been studying karate now for 9 years and am wondering whether or not to try another art. I'm curious how it would compare to what i already know. Jujitsu seems appealing to me but how would i be starting from scratch if i am used to being knowledgable? Any help would be appreciated. What MA would you recommend me picking up? im know pretty much nothing about any other MA so thought id ask in here. Also, which art is a little more of a full-contact art?

Jujitsu is a comain term used by a lot of styles. But you proably could find something that should fit nicley. Americain kempo should be a good bet.

But it does come down to what do you want. Something to complement you ; grappling or weapon usage. Or is it a question about trying something more fluid, or totally different. Are we talking more philosophy, or?

But come to think about it, it would be like starting over, and the same concerns you had then, will be the same concerns now. The only difference is that you should be able to spot what you want easier.

/Yari

OP
R

RyuShiKan

9 years is not very long.
It takes most people about 8 years to get shodan.
I have tried/done many other arts…….judo, kendo, naginata, sumo, jujutsu, etc….

If you are wanting to use more grabbing and throwing type moves karate already has them in it…………it’s called tutie.